Tags

, ,

I’m determined to post more here, and my wife suggested that I schedule time every week to do that, so I’m going to take her advice 🙂 The state of America right now (I live in New Hampshire) is…well. As a lesbian and a woman and someone who cares about the lives of trans people and people of color and immigrants and the disabled and other minorities, it’s put me in a near-constant state of panic. And if I’m in that state, I can’t write–and therefore can’t share my stories with you, which is my beloved career! So, while I’m remaining engaged in activism, I’m also keeping a tight rein on my news and social media consumption.

My wife posts weekly link round-ups in her blog, Wooly Witchy, and so I’m going to take a page from her e-book and share some cool things I’ve come across lately, in the hopes that they make you smile or interest you during this time of…well. Yeah.

Today is the 125th anniversary of the birth of Bessie Coleman, the first African American woman to hold a pilot’s license and the first woman to hold an international pilot’s license! Today’s Google doodle features her. Because of the whitewashing of history, I’d never heard of her…and she’s amazing. Such awesome accomplishments, such courage in the face of adversity. She didn’t let the fact that nobody in the U.S. would teach her aviation stop her. I admire her very much.

This has been making me laugh lately: The Gallery of Regrettable Food. It’s a gallery of bizarre, frightening, and wonderful food from vintage cookbooks. The humor is occasionally not to my taste, but most of the time it’s freaking hilarious. I really love looking at vintage advertisements, and not just the shockingly racist/sexist ones that always come up first when you search for them. This site also features some of the wackiest ads.

In the vintage vein, I’ve become enamored with cute vintage ceramic figurines (mostly of deer and bunnies and the like). Instagram has a fantastic community of vintage shops; here are some of my favorites:
The Vintage Bulldog
Kitsch and Kawaii
The Vintage Unicorn
Angel Violet Vintage
Stella Rocks It Vintage

❤ ❤ ❤ I hope some of these links bring you happiness, and please know that if you’re hurting right now, I’m thinking of you.

